Some 50 leaders from different municipalities in Palawan have elected a new set of Provincial Federation of Supreme Pupil Government (SPG) and Supreme Student Government (SSG) officers to strengthen youth leadership.

Grace Estefano, division information officer of the Schools Division of Palawan, said that the Department of Education (DepEd) believes in the capabilities of the young generation and is in full support to nurture the leadership of the youth.

“Ang DepEd kasi ay naniniwala na ang kabataan ang pag-asa ng bayan, so habang bata pa dinedevelop natin sila, lalong lalo na in terms of governance, sa pamamagitan ng student government program, tinitingnan natin ‘yong leadership ng mga bata,” she said.



Youth leaders and advisers, both elementary and secondary, representing their respective municipalities gathered at the DepEd Palawan Division Office on Monday to select the new set of leadership to govern the division for the school year 2020-2021.

All attendees were elected presidents of their schools and municipalities. Possible projects to implement, which mostly include leadership training’s and seminars for capacity buildings, were also discussed after the election.

She also said that the activity is under the youth formation program which are supervised by the division’s project development officers.


Estefano also said that the youth leaders are the representative of the learners to the crafting of the improvement plan and also for the activities.

“Sa road map ng youth formation program, tinitingnan kung saan ang mga batang ito ay magiging representative ng mga estudyante sa pag craft ng School Improvement Plan (SIP) isa rin ang mga batang yan na nagrerepresent sa school nila ng Child Protection policy, in every committeee may representative ‘yong mga estudyante, sa papamagitan ng kanilang mga SPG at SSG representatives,” she said.

The elected officers were:

President: Al Antone Jairie G. Emanig (Taytay)
Vice President: Alyyah A. Cayao (Roxas)
Secretary: Aubree Kim A. Buhawe (Rizal)
Treasurer: Jameah Rose L. Malto (Busuanga)
Auditor: Rashieca Mae O. Tay (Balabac)
PIO: Rhiane Merrie J. Gabayan (El Nido)
Peace Officer: Leenzly Myrrh J. Puanque (Bataraza)
Adviser: Phebe G. Tragico (Taytay)

President: Emmanuel E. Rodel (Taytay)
Vice President: Justine J. Martinez (Cuyo)
Secretary: Marlon M. Drapeza (El Nido)
Treasurer: Ynoz Bryon Steeve B. Florese (Roxas)
Auditor: Aron A. Aguilar (Brooke’s Point)
PIO: Jerome A. Yapla (Busuanga)
Peace Officer: Jerson B. Dela Cruz (Narra)
Adviser: Rolando B. Belarmino Jr. (Taytay)