Puerto Princesa City delegates to the 2nd National Conference of the Association of Anti-Drug Abuse Coalitions of the Philippines Inc. (AADACPI) (L-R) Reynaldo Taneo; Richard C. Ligad; Jemarjo G. Escalona; and Micky Miguel Morante. Photo courtesy of City Youth Development Office.

Two youth leaders in Puerto Princesa City have been elected in important posts in the first set of national officers of the Association of Anti-Drug Abuse Coalitions of the Philippines Incorporated (AADACPI).

City Youth Development Office (CDYO) officer Jemarjo “Arjo” Escalona was voted as the national vice president while Barangay Maningning Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) chairman Micky Miguel Morante was elected as one of the board of trustees (BoT).

The two youth leaders were in Bellevue Hotel, Muntinlupa City to attend the 2nd National Conference of AADACPI held on October 29 to 31.

First set of national officers of AADACPI. Photo courtesy of City Youth Development Office.

Escalona said that one of AADACPI’s missions is to create and sustain 1,000 more coalitions all over the country to help the fight against illegal drugs citing the youth as the most vulnerable in substance abuse.

“Based on recent news na mga senior high at college students na na-iinvolve sa marijuana, plano naming dalhin yung activities ng national coalition dito sa Puerto Princesa,” Escalona said.

Escalona also confirmed that partnership talks between the City Information Office (CIO), Philippine National Police (PNP) and CYDO have transpired to strengthen the awareness campaign against illegal drug abuse.

“Hindi pa sya official pero nagsabi naman ang ibang agencies na susuportahan nila itong ating campaign against illegal drugs. Sayang yung mga buhay ng kabataan na nalululong sa ganitong bisyo kaya tutulungan natin silang mas magin produktibo sa bahay at sa komunidad,” Escalona said.

The said event was attended by LGU officials and select youth coalition leaders from different cities, municipalities, and provinces from around the country.

Other city officials present for the event were Bgy. Bagong Silang chairman Reynaldo Taneo; CIO officer Richard C. Ligad; CYDO officer Jemarjo G. Escalona; and Bgy. Maningning SK chairman Micky Miguel Morante.

About Post Author

Previous articleCrew of damaged fishing boat rescued off Puerto Bay
Next articleFear Factor
is a desk editor and senior reporter of Palawan News. He covers politics, environment, tourism, justice, and sports. In his free time, he enjoys long walks with his dog, Bayani.