The Coast Guard District Palawan (CGDP) will open three sub-stations in the city which will be under the supervision of the Coast Guard Station (CGS) Puerto Princesa.

Lieutenant Commander Christian Jazmin, CGDP spokesperson, said the sub-stations will be located in Barangays Apurawan, Matahimik and Tagburos.

The new sub-stations will provide additional security and  protection for the environment, Jazmin said.

Currently, there are eight sub-stations in Puerto Princesa.

Jazmin added a Coast Guard Outposts (COPs) will be put up first before sub-station buildings.

“For now, COP muna then kapag nakaestablish na tayo doon ng structure and facility will develop na into sub-station,” he said.

Jazmin said they need to consider the personnel and floating assets to be deployed in the area.

“Kung sakaling may perpetrators na pumasok doon para gumawa ng hindi maganda at least may sub-station na tayo. ‘Yon naman ang mandate natin, within the maritime jurisdiction. So bago pa may mangyari dapat nandoon na tayo sa area,” Jazmin said.

Aside from the three sub-stations, the CGDP is also looking at putting up facilities in Nagtabon Beach in Barangay Bacungan due to the number of drowning incidents last year.

“Nabalitaan nga natin ‘yong mga insidente d’yan but titingnan natin kasi kasama naman ‘yan sa mandato ng inyong coast guard,” he said.

About Post Author

Previous articleKalayaan LGU holds coastal cleanup
Next articleBataraza LGU to open own hotel
is the chief of correspondents of Palawan News. She covers defense, politics, tourism, health, and sports stories. She loves to travel and explore different foods.