File photo courtesy of the Palawan Provincial Information Office

Eight medical scholars of the Palawan provincial government recently passed the 2019 physician examination.

The new Palaweño physicians are Dr. Lois Tablazon of Caguisan, Narra; Dr. Hannah Lei Gacott of Barangay Cambian, Agutaya; and Dr. Katherine Jakes Abad, Dr. Katherine Hernandez, Dr. Kenneth Libuit, Dr. Marianne Aira Paed, Dr. Adonis Olbes and Dr. Emilie Grace Tombucon from Puerto Princesa City.

Engr. Saylito M. Purisima, newly installed educational unit chief, said that the new licensed physicians are expected to render services as medical doctors in the province for a period equivalent to the length of time they studied under the scholarship program.

“Nakasaad sa kasunduan na ang bawat benepisyaryo ay kina-kailangang magbalik ng kanilang serbisyo bilang mga doktor matapos makapasa sa Licensure Examination for Physician sa kahit na anong ospital na pinangasiwaan ng Pamahalaang Panlalawigan. Ang haba ng taon ng kanilang pagbabalik ng serbisyo ay katumbas ng bilang ng taon ng pagbabayad ng Pamahalaang Panlalawigan ng kanilang matrikula,” he said.

There are currently 106 beneficiaries of the medical assistance program of the provincial government. Under the Programang Pang-Edukasyon para sa mga Palaweño (PPP) of the provincial government, each scholar is given P70,000 per semester.

Meanwhile, Purisima said that they are still accepting applications for the scholarship grant.

The first batch last 2018 had seven licensed physicians.