Comelec Provincial Supervisor Atty. Maria Aurea C. Bo-Bunao explains the roles of all deputized government agencies during the conduct of Coordinating Conference held at Tamaraw Hall, Provincial Capitol, Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro on March 12, 2019. (Photo by Luis T. Cueto/PIA-Mimaropa/Calapan)

CALAPAN CITY, Oriental Mindoro – The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) Provincial Office here conducted this afternoon Coordinating Conference with Deputized Agencies of the government at Tamaraw Hall, Provincial Capitol in this city.

Comelec Provincial Supervisor Atty. Maria Aurea C. Bo-Bunao oriented all deputized agencies of government on their roles in preparation for the May 13 national and local elections.

In her message, Bo-Bunao expressed his hope for 100 percent support of all deputized agencies this achieving peaceful and orderly elections in the entire province.

Likewise, Bo-Bunao briefed the agencies on the election policies and guidelines. She emphasized that all government employees shall not directly or indirectly involve themselves in the campaign or in any related election activities as they (employees) may be charged with electioneering.

During the conference, Bo-Bunao also demonstrated the use of the Vote Counting Machine (VCM) inside the conference hall.

Bo-Bunao sought the help of the agencies in disseminating to voters that they need to ensure that names of their chosen candidates are shaded properly and that they do not “overvote” or exceed shading more than the prescribed number of candidates as it will void the entire vote for the whole cluster. She also said undervotes are counted by machine but overvotes are not.

Voting hours will be from 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM on May 13, 2019.

The deputized agencies for the upcoming elections are the Philippine National Police (PNP), Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Department of Education (DepEd), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), Civil Service Commission (CSC), Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP), Philippine Information Agency (PIA), National Food Authority (NFA), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Social Security System (SSS), Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR). (LTC/PIA-Mimaropa/Calapan)