All three Palawan reps favor martial law extension

Photo: Reuters

All three Palawan congressmen voted on Saturday to favor the extension of martial law in Mindanao for another six months.
Representatives Frederick Abueg (2nd District), Frans Josef Alvarez (1st District) and Gil Acosta (3rd District) went with the majority of House members to give President Rodrigo Duterte overwhelming support to retain martial law in Mindanao until December 31, 2017.
Congress, in an unprecedented joint session of the House and Senate, voted 261-18 to support the administration’s bid to extend martial law.
Kailangan eh. Nakita naman natin kung ano ang nangyayari sa Mindanao. At saka sinabi naman ng Supreme Court na constitutional ang declaration ng Martial Law,” Abueg told Palawan News in a phone interview.
Abueg justified his stand, saying it was the only way to defeat the terrorists who have attacked Marawi City.
3rd District Rep. Gil Acosta said he also voted with the majority “para matapos na itong paglabag sa konstitusyon ng mga destabilizers ng bansa.”
Duterte declared martial law in Mindanao on May 23 after the ISIS flag bearing Maute terrorist group laid seige on Marawi City.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. © Copyright 2018 - Qubes Publication and Ads Promotion. All rights reserved.

You may also like...

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.