Provincial board formalizes bid for division of Palawan

The provincial board passed on Tuesday a resolution calling for the division of Palawan into three provinces namely Northern, East Central and Southern Palawan.

Under the proposal, Northern Palawan, which was dubbed as a tourism and fisheries cluster, will be composed of the towns of El Nido, Taytay, Coron, Linapacan, Culion and Busuanga.

East Central Palawan will include San Vicente, Roxas, Dumaran, Cuyo, Agutaya, Magsaysay and Cagayancillo. It was designated as a fishing, tourism and fruit crops cluster.

Southern Palawan, identified as an agro-industrial tourism cluster, will be composed by the towns of Kalayaan, Aborlan, Narra, Sofronio Española, Brooke’s Point, Rizal, Quezon, Bataraza and Balabac.

Board Member Roseller Pineda, chair of Committee on Rules and Laws, said their proposed division of Palawan into three provinces will speed up economic growth in the areas.

“Wala tayong problema dyan, ang daming advantages nito sa atin kung ito ay maaprobahan ng Congress,” Pineda said.

Pineda said that the clustering of the municipalities was a consolidation of the proposals raised by Board Members David Francis Ponce de Leon, Winston Arzaga and Cherry Pie Acosta.

This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. © Copyright 2018 - Qubes Publication and Ads Promotion. All rights reserved.

You may also like...

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.