Some of the beneficiaries of solar home system units being distributed by the provincial government of Palawan under the Energy Development Program. (Photo courtesy of the Provincial Information Office)

The provincial government recently reported that it distributed a total of 12,480 solar home system (SHS) units in southern Palawan under its Energy Development Program (EDP).

In a statement through the Provincial Information Office (PIO), Engr. Ricardo Rodriguez, executive assistant I-EDP, reported that the SHS units were distributed from July 2018 to present.

Based on the province’s EDP, it said 984 units were distributed to Aborlan, 952 in Brooke’s Point, 615 in Sofronio Española, 4,536 in Bataraza, 1,766 in Brooke’s Point, 1,554 in Quezon, 2,065 in Rizal town, and eight units to the Bahay Pag-asa Youth Center in Puerto Princesa City.

The SHS units were distributed in 86 barangays in these towns, Rodriguez said.

“Nasa 86 barangays ang nabigyan natin sa pitong munisipyo then meron sa Puerto Princesa, so mayroon tayong 12,480 total units distributed,” he said.

Rodriguez said that 8,000 more units are up for distribution within this year.

He said that the beneficiaries are selected from a list provided by the municipal governments.

“We have almost 8,000 units na naka-stand by and ready na rin for distribution within the year. Then sa pagpili naman ng mga beneficiaries, nagbibigay ang local government units ng list. Sila ‘yong nagde-decide kung sino ‘yong mga dapat na mabigyan ng solar home system,” Rodriguez said.