Malacañang has updated the list of regular holidays and special non-working days for 2023, allowing “long weekends.”

Proclamation 90, signed by Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin last Nov. 11, amends Proclamation 42 declaring the regular holidays and special non-working days

“There is a need to adjust these holidays pursuant to the principle of holiday economics wherein a longer weekend will help encourage domestic travel and increase tourism expenditures in the country,” the proclamation read.

Under the proclamation, Jan. 2, 2023, which falls on a Monday, will be an additional special non-working day “in consideration of the Filipino tradition of visiting relatives and spending time with their families for this occasion.”

Jan. 1, 2023, is already a regular holiday under Proclamation 90.

Proclamation 90 also moves the commemoration of Araw ng Kagitingan to April 10, 2023, the nearest Monday to its original date, April 9, 2023.

“To enable our countrymen to avail of the benefits of a longer weekend, Monday, 10 April 2023, in lieu of Sunday, 9 April 2023 may be declared as a non-working holiday, provided that the historical significance of Araw ng Kagitingan is maintained,” the proclamation read.

The proclamation likewise moves the commemoration of Bonifacio Day to Nov. 27, 2023, the nearest Monday to its original date, Nov. 30, 2023.

“Bonifacio Day, which is observed as a regular holiday on November 30 of each year, falls on a Thursday for the year 2023. Pursuant to RA No. [Republic Act No.] 9492, 27 November 2023 (Monday nearest November 30) may be declared as a non-working holiday while 30 November 2023 (Thursday) may be declared as a working day),” the proclamation read.

RA 9492, which was signed into law by former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, moved regular and special holidays to the nearest Monday.

The following days are declared as regular holidays and special days for 2023:

Regular Holidays

January 1 (Sunday) – New Year’s Day
April 10 (Monday nearest April 9) – Araw ng Kagitingan
April 6 – Maundy Thursday
April 7 – Good Friday
May 1 (Monday) – Labor Day
June 12 (Monday) – Independence Day
August 28 (last Monday of August) – National Heroes Day
November 27 (Monday nearest November 30) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Monday) – Christmas Day
December 30 (Saturday) – Rizal Day

Special Non-Working Days

February 25 (Saturday) – EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary
April 8 – Black Saturday
August 21 (Monday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 (Wednesday) – All Saints’ Day
December 8 (Friday) – Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary
December 31 (Sunday) – Last Day of the Year
Additional Special Non-Working Day
January 2 (Monday) – Day after New Year’s Day
November 2 (Thursday) – All Souls’ Day

“All the provisions of Proclamation No. 42, Series of 2022, shall remain unchanged, valid, and existing,” the proclamation read. (PNA)

About Post Author

Previous articleRDC conducts consultation on formulation of Mimaropa Dev’t Plan 2023-2028
Next articlePOPCOM, DOH, and USAID joining hands to create safe online spaces for teens