Narra town has received its fourth Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) award this year for exceeding responsive performance and transparency in governance, entitling it to receive a grant of P2.3 million from the performance challenge fund.

The SGLG 2019 award was given to Narra through Vice-Mayor Crispin Lumba and the present Sangguniang Bayan members on Monday at the Manila Hotel.

Former Narra mayor Lucena Demaala expressed pride in bagging the 4th award of the municipality during her term.

“I’m very proud, kasi straight four years na-maintain ng Narra ang pagiging SGLG awardee. Noong unang taon konti lang ang criteria pero ngayon mas matindi, pito na ang kailangang maipasang criteria kaya lang ngayon bumaba ‘yong prize P2.3 million dating P3.2 million,” she said.

Demaala said Narra would not have received its 4th SGLG if they did not aim for excellence and demand-driven accomplishments.

She said without the support of the department heads of Narra, it would not be able to maintain the achievement.

“Demand driven ako sa mga department heads ko, sabi ko sa kanila, we will always aim for excellence narito na tayo. We must do our best, lucky din ako dahil may Sangguniang Bayan at ‘yong mga department heads ay talagang trained,” she said.

The Seal of Good Local Governance is a prestigious award given yearly by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) through the conduct of assessments that measure the performances of local government units (LGUs) around the country.

The LGUs must pass the following criteria: Financial Administration, Disaster Preparedness, Social Protection, Peace and Order, Business Friendliness and Competitiveness, Environmental Management, and Tourism, Culture and the Arts.

The evaluation was for the year 2018, which was still under the term of Demaala, Vice Mayor Crispin Lumba, Jr., Sangguniang Bayan Members: Clarito Demaala, IV., Ryan Maminta, Cenon Garcia, Bayani Agapito, Arnold Verano, Janet Nabua, Joel Bito-onon, Ceferino Genovea, Ferdinand Zaballa, Joel Limsa and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) Federation President Keren Socrates (from 2018), department heads and all employees of the local government.