Puerto Princesa City Mayor Lucilo Bayron and Yang-Yoon Kyung of Seogwipo City signed a Memorandum of Understanding to establish a friendship city relation.

A Memorandum of Understanding on Friendship City Relation was signed between the city government of Puerto Princesa City and the Seogwipo City, Jeju, a special self-governing province in the Republic of Korea, Friday.

A copy of the MOU obtained by Palawan News signed by Puerto Princesa City Mayor Lucilo Bayron and Yang-Yoon Kyung of Seogwipo City states that both parties agree to establish a friendship city relation in order to enhance their similar qualities and to develop and expand common projects and programs that are geared towards mutual growth.

City administrator and legal counsel Atty. Arnel Pedrosa said in an interview Friday that the MOU will also help enhance the economies of both parties.

He said Seogwipo and Puerto Princesa City will help promote each other in their respective localities.

“More on investment ‘yan kapag ganyan. Tutulungan ng Seogwipo ang Puerto and ‘yong Puerto ay tutulungan din natin ang Seogwipo to enhance their assets. We all know naman na these cities are well-known for being beautiful destinations,” Pedrosa said.

Under the agreement, both cities shall conceive plans that will improve and enhance the programs of government agencies, assist each other to promote unique assets, keep open communications and connections to pave way for possible joint ventures and agreement, and promote and encourage inter-city undertaking for the benefit of their constituents.

Seogwipo is the second-largest city on Jeju Island, “settled on a rocky volcanic coastline in the southern part of Jeju Province, South Korea”.

City government officials arrived in Korea on October 1 and will be back on October 7.