Vice Governor Victorino Dennis Socrates disclosed Tuesday that there are ongoing talks between Gov. Jose Alvarez and the camp of 2nd District Rep. Cyrille “Beng” Abueg-Zaldivar for the former’s possible run for a House position.

Socrates said after announcing his gubernatorial bid Tuesday that Gov. Alvarez, who had already completed his maximum three terms, may run as 2nd district representative currently occupied by Abueg, who is also part of the administration bloc.

“Parang may pag-uusap sila ni Governor JCA tungkol sa kung sino ang kakandidato, hindi malinaw sa akin kung ano ang naging usapan. Isa sa mga options ni Governor JCA is to run for congressman,” Socrates said.

He added however that Alvarez remains undecided on what position he will seek, referring to earlier reports that he might run as Rizal mayor after registering there as a voter.

“I’m not saying that he will, or he wants [to]. Pero, nagsabi rin siya na nag-iisip siyang tumakbong mayor ng Rizal. Hindi ko alam ang final na usapan nila tungkol sa Second District,” Socrates said.

Zaldivar has only completed one term as a lawmaker and has yet to express her own plans for 2022. For the other districts, Gil Acosta, Jr. and former Palawan representative Antonio Alvarez have already confirmed their intent to run.

Socrates announced he will be running for governor in the upcoming national elections, stating that it was what was expected of him after completing three terms as vice-governor.

Socrates also announced that Board Member Leoncio Ola will be his running mate, citing Ola’s extensive political experience as his primary advantage. Ola will also be finishing his third and final term in 2022.

Socrates also announced his ticket for Congress and the Provincial Board. He confirmed that current board members Juan Antonio Alvarez and Maria Angela Sabando will run for re-election for Palawan’s First District, and Ryan Maminta will run for the Second District. Meanwhile, former congressman Antonio Alvarez will return to run for Palawan’s First District in the House of Representatives.

Meanwhile, six Provincial Board members will be finishing their third and final terms in 2022 –  Cherry Pie Acosta, David Francis Ponce de Leon, and Leoncio Ola for the First District;  Sharon Abiog-Onda, and Eduardo Modesto Rodriguez for the Second District; and Albert Rama for the 3rd District. Meanwhile, board member Cesario Benedito, Jr., who still has two terms to go, has yet to express his plans for 2022.