[UPDATED] The Committees on Justice and Rules have approved a measure seeking to establish a Shari’a Judicial Court in Puerto Princesa City and two Shari’a Circuit Courts in the municipalities of Brooke’s Point and Taytay to hear and decide cases involving the Code of Muslim Personal Laws.

The office of 2nd District House Rep. Cyrille “Beng” F. Abueg-Zaldivar said House Bill No. 4938 is pending plenary deliberations on the second reading.

Once approved, it will help ensure more effective and efficient access to Shari’a courts for Muslim Filipinos residing in the province. It will also enforce the Code of Muslim Personal Laws.

Following Presidential Decree (P.D.) No. 1083, five Shari’a Judicial District Courts have been established in Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga City, Marawi City, and Cotabato City, all of which are located in Mindanao.

- Advertisement -

These Shari’a courts, her office said, embody the Islamic principle of justice, to which many Palaweño Muslims adhere.

“Given the geographic distance between Mindanao and the island of Palawan, traveling to existing Shari’ah courts is both uneconomical and impractical for the speedy disposition of cases,” she said.

“To enable more effective and efficient access to these courts, two Shari’ah circuit courts are proposed to be stationed in the municipalities of Taytay in northern Palawan and Brooke’s Point in southern Palawan,” Abueg-Zaldivar added.

Previous articleU.S. donates RT-PCR extraction kits to Philippine Genome Center
Next articlePuerto Princesa City government asks for additional policemen
is the chief of correspondents of Palawan News. She covers defense, politics, tourism, health, and sports stories. She loves to travel and explore different foods.