Seventeen schools in the city and province receive the Tech4ED computer packages from DICT on April 4, 2019, at the Provincial Capitol. (Photo courtesy of the Palawan PIO)

Seventeen schools in Palawan became beneficiaries recently of the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) computer packages under the Tech4ED or Technology Empowerment for Education, Employment, Entrepreneurship and Economic Development.

They were turned over to school authorities on April 4 at the Victorian J. Rodriguez Hall, Provincial Capitol by DICT assistant secretary Alan Silor, DICT Cluster 3 director Cheryl Ortega and Cluster 3 assistant director Vicente Vargas.

“We gave five sets of computer per school kasi dapat marami silang magagamit for them to be able to be knowledgeable enough in terms of technology, digital literacy, and innovation,” said Silor.

Each set of computers is equipped and loaded with learning materials accessible in Tech4ED, including the following software: eEduSkills (delivers e-learning on demand to address the education divide), eAssist (aims to empower special sectors through access to necessary skills training content in answer to specific industry needs), Gender and Development (provides content on women empowerment, policies for protection of women, and skills enhancement), eAgri (provides contents and services on agriculture technologies to enhance and localize farm technologies to increase productivity and reduce cost for farmers and fisherfolk), Rural Impact Sourcing (provides an introduction to online job opportunities and learning materials to enhance knowledge and practical skills for online workers and entrepreneurs), and eHealth (provides basic health information and access to existing and available Philippine-based health-related online resources).

The recipients are Abo-abo National High School in Sofronio Espaῆola; Inil U. Taha National High School in Brooke’s Point; Aborlan National Highschool; Balabac National High School; Coron School of Fisheries; Jose P. Rizal National High School; Manamoc National High School in Cuyo; Narra National High School, Panacan Elementary School, Panacan National High School and Princess Urduja National High School in Narra; Pulot National High School in Española and Quezon National High School.

In the city, the school beneficiaries are Candes Elementary School, Brgy. Bacungan, Matahimik-Bucana Elementary School, Brgy. Matahimik and Pilot Elementary School and Ubaldo Conde High School.

Tech4ED provides access points for individuals and communities to bridge the digital and education divide, Silor said.

It promotes grassroots development and opportunities for inclusive growth and poverty reduction. It will give communities access to information, communication, technology, government services, non-formal education, skills training, health, job markets, and business portals.

By providing the marginalized sector access to digital opportunities, Tech4ED will now make it possible for hundreds and thousands of people to start businesses, get an education, gain employment and take their first steps towards improving their families well-being, through a single ICT portal in a single center.

Meanwhile, the DICT and the Department of Education (DepEd) Puerto Princesa and Palawan division offices signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) promoting the use of Tech4ED that will serve as a knowledge area promoting digital literacy, business hubs and delivery channels of government services targeting out-of-school youth and adults, senior citizens, overseas Filipino workers and relatives, persons with disabilities, teachers, students, women, indigenous people and the general public.


Previous articleCacaoyan Forest Park Photos Your Instagram and Facebook Feeds Shouldn’t Miss
Next articleLalaki patay sa banggaan sa Bato, Taytay