The Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) is focusing on Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) projects identified in the subregional economic co-operation initiative Vision 2025 in this year’s ICT-Cluster Meeting (ICT-CM) in Puerto Princesa City.

A press statement from the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) on Monday said that the ICT-CM on June 26 will discuss “matters on developing hard and soft ICT infrastructure, promotion of e-commerce at the subregional level, human resource development in ICT, and development of ICT entrepreneurship and ICT products and services under four identified strategic priorities”.

“The DICT, among other topics, is set to present its proposal project Cross Border Public Protection and Disaster Relief (PPDR) System Integration, aimed at strengthening collaboration in addressing disasters and public safety and relief in the region,” the press statement said.

Delegations from the four countries arrived at the Puerto Princesa International Airport (PPCIA) arriving as early as June 23, where they were treated to a Palawan welcome of local songs and dances.

The delegates participated in pre-event activities organized by the secretariat as part of a series of meetings, conferences and exhibition leading up to the ICT-CM, namely, the BIMP-EAGA ICT CEO Forum at Citystate Asturias Hotel on June 24, and Livelihood Exchange (LIVEX) Conference and Exhibit on Day 2 on June 25 at the same venue.

The ICT-CM is participated by Philippine’s DICT and its counterparts namely, the Brunei Darussalam Ministry of Transport and Infocommunications, Indonesia Ministry of Communication and Information Technology, and Malaysian Communication & Multimedia Commission. These four organizations, together with key private partners make up this year’s meeting.

The BIMP-EAGA is a subregional economic cooperation that is aimed at spurring economic development in remote areas in the four member countries.

Among its areas are 26 provinces in Mindanao and the province of Palawan.

Previous article6 BMs bid goodbye to prov’l board
Next articleBrooke’s Point celebrates 70th anniversary