(Background photo courtesy of the Official Gazette)
(Background photo courtesy of the Official Gazette)

Gawad Parangal 2019 will highlight the celebration of the World Teachers’ Day in Palawan slated on October 10.

Department of Education (DepEd) Palawan Schools Division information officer Grace Estefano said the Gawad Parangal is part of their October 5 commemoration of the signing of the 1966 International Labour Organization/United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ILO/UNESCO) Recommendation on the Status of Teachers, a standard-setting instrument that responses to the situation of teachers globally.

Estefano said the Gawad Parangal this year is initiated to recognize the great achievements and exemplary performances of the teachers and the school heads.

It was established to honor the vital role of the teachers in building the nation, she added.

The Gawad Parangal is divided into two categories — Outstanding Teachers, which consist of classroom, master, and multigrade teachers and Outstanding School Heads category.

The selection of the awardees is based on the criteria pursuant to Division Memorandum 190, Series of 2019 dated September 17.

The outstanding teachers were assessed based on the following criteria — instructional competence and professional growth (40 points), community development (10 points), and personal characteristics (10 points).

The outstanding school heads were rated for the following — managerial and personal competence (40 points), educational attainment professional advancement (10 points), and scholarship awarded in partnership with DepEd (10 points).

The awardees for the Gawad Parangal who will be given commendation this coming October 10 at AKC Country Home, Barangay San Manuel are Outstanding Teachers awardee (Secondary and Elementary): Classroom teachers Job Ryan Abid of Punang National High School (NHS) in Sofronio Española and Ken Mirasol of Narra National High School (NHS).

For the Master Teacher, Beulah Gay Dayot of Narra Pilot School and Rosario Caluya of Quezon NHS.

Outstanding teacher for the Multigrade category is Janet Cesar of Aplaya Elementary School (ES), Narra. Outstanding School Heads are Manuel Cruzat from Damayan Bliss Elementary School (Medium School mainland category); Analyn Gapas of Igabas ES (Magsaysay small school category), and Eden Paduga of Taritien Annex ES (Narra small school mainland category), while for the secondary school, Felomina Alanis of Narra NHS.

Estefano said that the districts from different municipalities were asked to select their nominees both in elementary and secondary. The Division selection committee will be the one to assess and finalize the results.

“Ang nangyari nyan ‘yong by district nagkaroon muna ng selection doon sa district nila so kung sino napili nila sa district ‘yon ang ipinadala nila sa division office ‘yon ang pinagpilian based on the criteria,” she said.

She also said that it is not the first time that the division rendered awards to exemplary teachers and school heads but it is the first time that they are giving awards under the title “Gawad Parangal”.

“This is the first time ‘yong Gawad Parangal, meron ding selection pero hindi siya Gawad Parangal, iba ‘yong term na ginamit. Bale itong 2019 Gawad Parangal first time ito na ganito ang title,” she said.

Estefano said that the Gawad Parangal is initiated under the leadership of Schools Division Superintendent, Dr. Ma. Luisa Servando, Ph.D., CESO VI.