Ten Palawan towns will be exempted from the land titling ban imposed by the Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Office (PENRO) in the province.

Johny Lilang, chief of the PENRO technical services division, named the towns as Cagayancillo, Busuanga, Dumaran, Culion, Taytay, Roxas, Rizal, Narra, Brooke’s Point and Balabac.

Lilang said that his office has recommended the lifting of the ban to their national office because they are not “problematic municipalities” or those with land issues

“Mga nauna lang ‘yan, ‘yan ang mga nakitaan natin na wala masyadong problema pagdating sa issue ng lupa o titulo. Pero hindi naman ibig sabihin na nauna silang irecommend ay hindi na kasali ang iba, kapag naialis na ito sa moratorium others will follow,” he said.

Lilang said their central office has a right to decide to lift the ban on land titling.

The suspension of land titling in Palawan was implemented by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) in 2015 after former secretary Ramon Paje cited numerous cases of land titles awarded to moneyed or influential individuals allegedly in connivance with the agency’s personnel.

“Actually, we are requesting for lifting sa buong lalawigan but nahihirapan mag-desisyon ang central office. But sana maayos na,” he added.

Felizardo Cayatoc, former provincial environment and natural resources officer of Palawan, earlier said he has recommended seven towns but it was raised to 10 after further evaluation.

The land titles filed before the suspension are still waiting for the approval of the DENR, Cayatoc said.